Organizational Structure

At the central level the National Programme Support Office (NPSO) under the leadership of the National Programme Manager coordinates programme activities between central level partners and facilitates programme activities in the district. The NPSO is a small team of professionals as all of the programme's activities are field-based in the district. At the central level, the overall activities of the programme are coordinated and facilitated by the NPSO through core staff members hired jointly by the UNDP and the Ministry of Industry of the Nepal Government.

Likewise, programme activities in the districts are coordinated and facilitated by the seven Area Programme Support Office (APSO) under the NPSO which work directly with district level institutions to deliver services to establish and expand micro-enterprises among the poor people.

Project Board

The Project Board (PB) is the apex body which governs the overall management and functioning of MEDEP. Being a multi-agency programme, the Project Board constitutes representatives of the following organisations:



Joint Secretary, Ministry of Industry and the National Programme Director (NPD) of MEDEP


Member Representative:

  • Ministry of Forest and Soil Conservation (MoFSC)
  • Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development (MoFALD)
  • Ministry of Agriculture Development (MoAD)
  • Association of Youth Organisations in Nepal (AYON)
  • Member Secretary - MEDEP National Programme Manager (NPM)
  • Representative: Federation of Nepal Chamber of Commerce and Industries
  • Representative: Federation of Nepalese Cottage and Small Industries
  • Executive Director (Micro-Finance): Nepal Rastra Bank
  • Assistant Country Director (ACD), UNDP
  • Donor: Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT), Government of Australia 


MEDEP programme staff at the NPSO

District and Regional Level

At the regional level, the programme has eight Area Programme Support Offices (APSOs) to provide technical backstopping to implementing activities in the districts. The main responsibility of the APSO is to establish networks within their designated district responsibilities within a geographical region.

At the district level, during phase I of the programme, it implemented programmes through the Programme Implementation Office (PIO) in coordination with the District Programme Implementation Committee (DDIC) which representatives of the District Development Committee (DDC), and district level offices of the CSIDB/DCSI, Agricultural Development Bank/Nepal(ADB/N), District Chamber of Commerce and Industry (DCCI) and the Programme's District Programme Manager.

The programme's phase II district operations were supported by Area Programme Support Offices covering 3-4 districts each. Likewise, replacing the DPIC, the programme's activities are administered through a 19-member District Enterprise Development Committee (DEDC) which is chaired by the DDC Chairperson (currently Local Development Officer). The Head of the district office of DCSI/CSIDB is the member secretary of the committee. Other members of the DEDC include representatives of District Agriculture and Forestry Offices, District Chambers of Commerce, District Micro Enterprise Groups Association, Dalit and Women organizations. The DCSIO/CSIDB is the lead implementing agency to implement programme activities in the districts. MEDEP staff - Government Support Specialist (GSS) or Market Development Specialist (MDS) provide technical inputs to the DEDC and also act as the member secretary of the DEDC monitoring committee.

Domain EOI


Copyright © 2008 All Rights Reserved.

sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari sohbet hatlari